ЗОЛОТАЯ МАСКА - ФЕСТИВАЛЬ И ПРЕМИЯ
based on Alexander Pushkin`s fairy tales

PUSHKIN`S FAIRY TALES

Theatre of Nations, Moscow
Presented in the frame of Russian Case
Участник программы «Russian Case» Фестиваля 2016 года

Director: Robert Wilson



The world-famous Robert Wilson has directed a production in Moscow – this alone speaks a lot. Wilson’s recognizable style in make-up, in visual effects and in the rhythm pf the performance is unusual for Russian theatre. It is impressive how well the Theatre of Nation copes with the integration. Pushkin`s fairytales that seem to be meant for children, here turn out to be telling about death. Paradoxically, it took an American director to clearly state the obvious: that hatred and injustice, the arrogance of those in power and complaints of the people – everything loses its importance in the face of the imminent death and the soulless nature. Death is the highest judge that will explain everything and will give everyone according to merit. Death is needed to sing Hallelujah to love. Death justifies life. Irreversibility of death is an internal moral law. In the final scene Yevgeny Mironov as Pushkin is at his best. The poet has attained wisdom and is ready to accept whatever life will bring him. He looks at the world with a Mozartian smile as if it were his own creation. It is an artist who brings a meaning to the universe. The young poet is played as a demiurge who enjoys the life he has created. The adolescence of talent and the talent of the youth are the only things that can confront death while reminding about it. The message is simple: the one who has talent will be the winner.

Pavel Rudnev




Having long found pleasure in savouring the beauty of static scenes, live pictures, “colourful dreams about black and white”, Wilson had a good reason to choose fairy tales out of the whole variety of possibilities for working in Moscow. In fairy tales, with all the body moves, long distances and changes of fate, statics is a part of the game. Those who are good are good, those who are bad are bad, from the beginning till the very end.
Starting with the first screen curtain, Wilson shows a bright, glittering world, where spangles, gold and silver shouldn’t outshine the horrors that are waiting for fairy tale heroes behind every corner. Pushkin describes it very simply: “Put the queen and put her son / In a cask, and sealed it fast; / Tarred it well, and then they cast / Cask and burden in the sea”. Only in a fairy tale can you get safe and sound out of such a scrape.

Nezavisimaya Newspaper




Wilson's relationship with text is a quite well-researched issue, yet it looks like everyone is stepping on that very same rake again. Even taking into account that his principles of using author’s words have long been formulated very concisely, and not by critics, but by his associate, director Tom Waits, who noted that “for Bob words are like nails in the kitchen floor, when it is dark and you are barefoot”. The best of his productions either lack coherent text at all, or are based on verse, like “Shakespeare’s Sonnets”, where actors and actresses (undistinguishable in appearance from the characters of “The Tale of Tsar Saltan”) seem to be lines that have come alive and that are now nonchalantly making their elaborate moves.

Noviye Izvestia





Apparently the famous American director Robert Wilson does not like pathos – either in words or in action. Although it looks like it's not possible to do without it. In his production “Pushkin’s Fairy Tales” he accomplished what should be done by politicians. He unlocked the borders of Russian culture for the world, he showed that “the things that make us who we are” are actually universal, valuable and highly needed by everyone. And while we are persistently encouraged to find refuge in the national hermitage in order to value authentic national traditions without looking too much around, he takes both Pushkin and Russian theatre out of there, having organized an excellent meeting of cultural worlds without any sanctions or bans. In Wilson’s Russian production, created by a multinational creative team, very different styles and genres come to the fore – from different national theatre and music styles to exposing archetypal features of the fairy tale genre itself with it migratory subjects, which, in their roaming, didn’t escape Pushkin’s attention.

St.Peterburg Theatre Journal





You know right away who's production it is, you don't have to be an expert, it's enough to flip through fragments of Wilson's shows on Youtube. A signature cyclorama, glittering like water-surface, which sometimes turns into a background for silhouettes, a completely empty stage, changing its look thanks to the coming and going compact portable set, pronouncedly uncommon, inventive costumes, complicated actors’ make up – all this is Wilson as he is, you could check it against the textbook. Wilson is in extravagant actors’ movement, in the strange atmosphere, which is customarily called “meditative” – sometimes mysteriously ritualistic, sometimes displaying saloon-like decency, sometimes unexpectedly exploding through explicitly profane pranks worthy of a TV sitcom.

Theatre

ЗОЛОТАЯ МАСКА - ФЕСТИВАЛЬ И ПРЕМИЯ

Сказки Пушкина

Театр Наций, Москва
Участник программы «Russian Case» Фестиваля 2016 года
по сказкам А.С.Пушкина



Режиссер: Роберт Уилсон


Возрастная категория 12+

Премьеру в Москве поставил сам Роберт Уилсон, и этим всё сказано. Типичный грим, типичные визуальные эффекты, типичный ритм – удивительно, как Театр наций справляется с этой не свойственной русскому театру культурой. Сказки Пушкина казались детскими, а оказались – о смерти. Парадоксально, но нужен был американский режиссер, чтобы твердо и ясно сказать очевидное: перед лицом неминуемой смерти и равнодушной природы должны сгинуть ненависть и несправедливость, чванливость властителей и ропот народа. Смерть всех упокоит и всё расставит по местам. Смерть нужна для того, что пропеть аллилуйю любви. Смерть дает оправдание жизни. Необратимость смерти - нравственный закон, который внутри нас. Здесь на артиста Евгения Миронова смотришь во все глаза. В финале обретая мудрость, спокойствие в ожидании судьбы, его Пушкин на тоненьких ножках пробегает мимо героев сочиненных им сказок. Гений с моцартовским радушием взирающий на мир, улыбающийся ему как своему собственному созданию. Нет смысла в мироздании, только художник может его мирозданию предоставить. Миронов играет молодого поэта как демиурга, сообщающего миру теплоту и упивающегося той жизнью, которую он же в мир и запустил. Молодость таланта и талант молодости - единственное, что может противостоять смерти, но и напоминать о ней. Спектакль Уилсона вбросил в реальность одну простую мысль: победит лишь тот, кто талантлив. С кем талант, тот и победит.

Павел Руднев







Давно нашедший удовольствие в любовании красотой статичных сцен, живых картин, «цветных снов о черно-белом», Уилсон не зря из всего многообразия возможностей для работы в Москве выбрал именно сказки, где при всех телодвижениях, дальних дорогах и переменах участи статичность входит в условия игры. Хорошие – хороши, плохие – плохи от начала до конца.

Уилсон показывает – с самой заставки-занавеса – мир яркий, сверкающий, в котором блестки и злато-серебро не должны затмить ужасов, которые подстерегают сказочных героев за каждым поворотом. У Пушкина все это очень просто описывается: «И царицу в тот же час/ В бочку с сыном посадили,/ Засмолили, покатили/ И пустили в Окиян». Только в сказке можно в этой ситуации выйти, так сказать, сухим из воды.

«Независимая газета»





Отношения Уилсона с текстом – проблема достаточно исследованная, но, похоже, об эти грабли все заново спотыкаются. Притом, что принципы его использования авторского слова сформулированы давно и наиболее емко вовсе не критиками, а соратником режиссера Томом Уейтсом, заметившим, что «слова для Боба похожи на гвозди в кухонном полу, когда темно и Вы босиком». Лучшие его спектакли связного текста лишены вовсе или поставлены по стихотворениям, как «Сонеты Шекспира», где актеры и актрисы (внешне неотличимые от персонажей «Сказки о царе Салтане») кажутся ожившими строками, непринужденно совершающими свои замысловатые экзерсисы.

Газета «Новые известия»




Знаменитый американский режиссер Роберт Уилсон, вероятно, не любит пафоса — ни словесного, ни действенного. Однако ж без него, кажется, не обойтись. В своем спектакле «Сказки Пушкина» он осуществил то, что должны бы делать политики. Разомкнул границы русской культуры навстречу миру, показал, что «наше все», в общем-то — явление всеобщее, ценное и востребованное. И в то время, когда нас настойчиво призывают укрыться в национальном скиту, дабы чтить исконные традиции и не слишком смотреть по сторонам, он и Пушкина, и российский театр оттуда вывел, организовав превосходную встречу культурных миров без всяких санкций и запретов. В русском спектакле Уилсона, сделанном сборной международной постановочной командой, явно просвечивают самые разные стили и направления — от проявлений разных национальных театральных и музыкальных стилей до выявления архетипических примет самого жанра сказки с его бродячими сюжетами, которые в своих скитаниях не обошли и Пушкина.

«Петербургский театральный журнал»




Кто именно поставил этот спектакль, видно сразу, не нужно быть специалистом, достаточно полистать фрагменты постановок Уилсона на Youtube. Фирменный мерцающий, словно поверхность воды, задник, иногда превращающийся в фон для силуэтов, пустая сцена, меняющая облик благодаря сменяющим друг друга компактным разборным декорациям, подчеркнуто небытовые, фантазийные костюмы, сложные гримы актеров — все это Уилсон как он есть, хоть с учебником сверяй. Уилсон — и в вычурной актерской пластике, и в странной атмосфере, которую принято называть «медитативной» — иногда таинственно-ритуальной, порою благопристойно-салонной, порою вдруг взрывающейся за счет откровенно профанных приколов, достойных телевизионного ситкома.

Журнал «Театр», блог