ЗОЛОТАЯ МАСКА - ФЕСТИВАЛЬ И ПРЕМИЯ

WHO IS HAPPY IN RUSSIA?

Gogol Center, Moscow
Presented in the frame of Russian Case
Участник программы «Russian Case» Фестиваля 2016 года
based on Nikolai Nekrasov`s poem

Director: Kirill Serebrennikov
Age category 18+
Kirill Serebrennikov strives to express Russia’s age-old trouble and Nekrasov’s care for the Russian people. The director uses a number of genres to do so without exaltation: street theatre, modern dance, talk show and ceremonial promenade. People’s suffering and vain endeavours are expressed in the dance of a drunken fellow in a beautiful scene choreographed by Anton Adasinsky. The choreographer uses the dance to articulate despair and the futility of hope. The actress Yevgeniya Dobrovolskaya, who plays the monumental and emotional Matryona, incarnates the pain of the people. The final scene sounds optimistic, and comes as a contrast to the generally pessimistic theme of the production. Nekrasov believed in the people’s strength, in their slow alacrity, the high morals that do not show immediately, in their senses and sensibility. The faith in “ordinary people” has proved illusionary, as we see today. But we continue to believe in a miracle - that somewhere, deep inside the Russian people’s nature there is an irrational and spontaneous element that will emerge and change their destiny. “Every bullet has its billet”: sooner or later, men will settle down, stop drinking and asking questions that have no answers.

Pavel Rudnev





The production starts with the audience scrutinizing the stage, where uncomfortable heavy school chairs with metal legs and inclined backs are standing, and the pipe of an unknown gas pipeline or heating line, coming to the surface so often, even in Moscow, crosses the stage from left to right. Above the wall, which later will uncover the full depth of the stage, and for now just marks another barrier behind the pipe, we see sparkling twisted circles of barbed wire. In one spot a carpet has been placed right on top of the pipe. So you think – the space for talking about “who is happy in Russia” is organized well. This is where men from different villages come, all of them well-recognizable types. Picturesque old Pakhom cannot make up his mind, is torn in this thoughts between a boyar and a minister… When after the question “who” a pause hangs in the air, there is a small laugh in the audience: looking at these men it is quite obvious that they will get confused in their answers, as they cannot say anything about themselves on that score. Not one of them. Everything is “according to Nekrasov”.

The production is diverse, farcical, kaleidoscope, just like in the case of Nekrasov, who drapes, hides with farcical intonation and motley talks the hopelessness of this “road movie”, the essential “happilessness” of peasant life, and in reality – any other kind of life in Russia. Because nobody in the city or anywhere else high up there can consider himself happy, if this happiness is built on such tragic “bones”.

Nezavisimaya Newspaper





WHO IS HAPPY IN RUSSIA is superlatively patriotic. There is no arrogance, no over-fastidiousness, no hypocritical servility, no false cordiality in it. Answering the question “what will be with our Motherland and with us” the author doesn’t go squeamishly aside, he himself is a part of this world, one of the seven men who are dancing their desperate dance in the road dust. And no words are needed as long as you have the energy for laughing and crying.

WHO IS HAPPY IN RUSSIA is a melting pot of genres, where everything blends: drama, ballet, opera, circus, low-brow folklore, defile, club party, rock concert. The production is like a matryoshka where all sisters have different parents. The rhythm is frantic and hectic, the orchestra rattles with brass and stumbles over percussion, pictures change, like in a performance at the fair: you haven’t scrutinized one well enough yet when it is changed by another, and it seems that there are hundreds of them in store.

WHO IS HAPPY IN RUSSIA is not a diagnosis, it is a journey - excruciating, sweet, bitter, drunken. The predetermined journey, which we are sentenced to, which we are involved in, written into, rubbed into. The journey where the impending doom borders with delight. If it is true that every talented director works at one production all his life, then WHO IS HAPPY IN RUSSIA by Serebrennikov is a continuation of THE GOLOVLYOV FAMILY and KIZHE with their mystical awe, and also DEAD SOULS and THE GOLDEN COCKEREL with their low-brow folk gloom. To put it in one word, it is a hard won dialogue with the public, which the director fully trusts. The three acts of the production are completely self-sufficient and autonomous – both in the plot and in genre.

The New Times




With all its publicistic nature, the new production by Serebrennikov is a highly aesthetic show, with a free arrangement of different-genred scenes where there is room for farcical gags, and for a defile of faery costumes a-la-russe style, and for musical pieces by Rita Kron who is brilliant in singing Soviet chartbusters about mother Russia. There is also a whole dancing act to the music by Ilya Demutskiy (the one who composed music for the Bolshoi Theatre ballet HERO OF OUR TIMES) staged by Anton Adasinskiy.

Serebrennikov and his actors succeeded in creating a sober and bitter production about Russia, full of healthy spite, conscious stoicism and actor drive. As for the question “who is happy here?”, you can reply with certainty – the audience of Gogol Centre. As long as there are such outstanding and meaningful premieres, there is enough air to breathe here.

Theatral

ЗОЛОТАЯ МАСКА - ФЕСТИВАЛЬ И ПРЕМИЯ

Кому на Руси жить хорошо?

Гоголь-центр, Москва
Участник программы «Russian Case» Фестиваля 2016 года
по поэме Николая Некрасова



Режиссер: Кирилл Серебренников


Возрастная категория 18+


Кирилл Серебренников ищет способы выразить российское вековое неблагополучие, некрасовскую боль за народ, подбирает несколько жанров, чтобы сделать это без экзальтации: площадной театр, модерн-данс, ток-шоу и парадный променад. Выражение боли народной, тщеты всех усилий - в прекрасной пластической сцене от Антона Адасинского - танец нетрезвого мужика, в котором хореограф разглядел не веселье и ухарское пьянство, а отчаяние и бессмыслицу всех чаяний и телодвижений. Выражение боли народной - в женской материнской теме, которую целиком взяла на себя одновременно и монументальная, и взвинченная со сталью в голосе Евгения Добровольская. Спектакль завершается на парадоксе. В финале, в сущности, очень пессимистического спектакля звучит тема духоподъемная. Некрасов верил в мужицкую силу, в ее медленную расторопность, неспешное размышление и точность и определенность окончательной нравственной оценки. Современность эти иллюзии веры в народ развеяла. Но остается вера в чудо: что в этой мощной народной стихии de profundis, которую разворачивает палитрой Серебренников, хранится где-то глубокое иррациональное, нечто опрокидывающее. То ли случайность, внезапность, то ли закономерный рок, сила судьбы. Пуля виноватого найдет, и рано или поздно мужики перестанут бродить по стране и пить горькую, задавая вопросы без ответа.


Павел Руднев





Спектакль начинается с рассматривания сцены, на которой – неудобные, тяжелые школьные стулья, с металлическими ножками и наклонной спинкой, из конца в конец сцены справа налево пролегла труба неведомого «газопровода» или теплотрассы, так часто даже и в Москве вылезающей на поверхность. Над стеной, которая попозже распахнет всю глубину сцены, а пока – обозначающей позади трубы очередную преграду, сверкает закрученная кольцами колючая проволока. В одном месте, правда, прямо на трубе разложили ковер. Но в общем, думаешь, хорошо обустроено пространство для разговора о том, кому на Руси жить хорошо. Сюда-то и приходят мужики из разных деревень, все – узнаваемые типы. Живописный старик Пахом никак не может определиться, мечется мыслями от боярина к министру и обратно… Когда после вопроса «про кому» повисает пауза, по залу пробегает легкий смешок: глядя на этих мужиков, ясно, что они будут сейчас путаться в ответах, поскольку про самих себя в этом отношении им сказать нечего. Из них – точно никому. Все – «по Некрасову».

В спектакле много разного, балаганного, калейдоскопного, как балаганной интонацией и пестротой разговоров Некрасов до поры до времени драпирует, скрывает безысходность здешней «роад-муви», принципиальную бессчастность крестьянской, а по смыслу – любой другой жизни «на Руси». Потому что никто в городе или где-то там наверху не может считать себя счастливым, если это счастье построено на таких трагических «костях».

«Независимая газета»





«Кому на Руси…» — в высшей степени патриотический спектакль. В нем нет ни высокомерия, ни чистоплюйства, ни лицемерного подобострастия, ни фальшивой задушевности. Отвечая на вопрос, «что же будет с родиной и с нами», автор не отходит брезгливо в сторону, он сам — часть этого мира, один из семи мужиков, что выплясывают в дорожной пыли свой отчаянный танец. И слов уже не надо, были бы силы на смех и слезы.

«Кому на Руси…» — это жанровый плавильный котел, в который брошено все, что попадется под руку: драма, балет, опера, цирк, лубок, дефиле, клубная вечеринка, рок-концерт. Спектакль, как матрешка, где все сестры — от разных родителей. Ритм бешеный и рваный, оркестр хрипит духовыми и спотыкается об ударные, картинки меняются, как в ярмарочном представлении: не успеваешь рассмотреть одну, как ее уже сменяет следующая, и кажется, что в запасе их еще сотни.
«Кому на Руси…» — это не диагноз, это путь — мучительный, сладостный, горький, похмельный. Путь предначертанный, к которому мы приговорены, в который впряжены, вписаны, втерты. Путь, где обреченность граничит с восторгом. Если правда, что каждый талантливый режиссер всю жизнь ставит один спектакль, то «Русь» Серебренникова — это продолжение «Господ Головлевых» и «Киже» с их мистической жутью, а также «Мертвых душ» и «Золотого петушка» с их лубочным мороком. Словом, это выстраданный диалог с публикой, которой режиссер полностью доверяет. Три действия спектакля абсолютно самодостаточны и автономны — как по сюжетной канве, так и по жанровому решению.

журнал «The New Times»




При всей явной публицистичности новый спектакль Серебренникова – это эстетское шоу, свободный монтаж разножанровых сцен, где находится место и для балаганных реприз, и для дефиле феерических костюмов а-ля-рюс, и для вставных музыкальных номеров Риты Крон, шикарно исполняющей советские шлягеры о матушке России. А еще тут есть целый танцевальный акт на музыку Ильи Демуцкого (того самого, что сочинил для Большого балет «Герой нашего времени») в постановке Антона Адасинского.

У Серебренникова и его актеров получилась трезвая и горькая постановка о России, полная здоровой злости, осознанного стоицизма и актерского драйва. А на вопрос «кому же тут жить хорошо?» можно ответить с уверенностью – зрителям Гоголь-центра. Пока в Москве выходят такие яркие и осмысленные премьеры, здесь есть чем дышать.

интернет-издание «Театрал-онлайн»